Life

The Fixer Upper : Progress!

It’s been about a week since we’ve started on the project that is our “new” apartment. I am so proud of the progress we have made! At the same time though, I feel like I’m constantly finding something new to do there.

Among the successes of this week have been painting the walls in every room of the apartment aside from the bathroom, mopping the bathroom and kitchen floors, scrubbing the tub/shower, attacking the stove/oven disaster, wiping out all the cupboards, cleaning and fixing the toilet, vaccuming the carpets and beginning to shampoo them as well.

Before and after pictures of the biggest transformation; the stove.

Before and afters that show more of the inside of the oven.
See the distinct line of color difference where I stopped shampooing that day? The water on the clean side was still coming up almost black. Yuck.

As I said before though, it still seems like there is endless work to be done. I was cleaning the bathtub today and from underneath the laminate wall above the side of the tub, black chunks were coming out when I tried to clean in the crack between the laminate and the tub. I don’t even want to imagine what the wall must look like under the laminate and I can tell you our landlord probably doesn’t care, so this week I plan on getting some caulk and redoing all the caulking in our bathroom in addition to putting some between the bathtub and the wall.

Anyway, enjoy the progress pictures! Once all is said and done I will post what worked best to clean and sanitize each area. As always I am also open to any advice you may have!

Leave a Reply

