Travel

Welcome to Limerick!

Starting off again with what I learned today:

  • Roads in Ireland are incredibly narrow and windy.
  • I really wish we had Lemon Ice Fanta, Mojito 7UP, and BBQ Rib Doritos in America. I’m sure this list will grow as the days go on.
  • Chicken Liver Pâté and Lamb kebabs are both tasty, but once again not things I had come across commonly before.
  • Everyone, including the sun, stays up late. Dinner is also usually quite late.

We started out this morning by packing up and heading to Limerick to stay with John’s sister Fiona, her husband Porrick and their three boys Patrick, Macken and Calen. I apologize but I have no confidence that I spelled their names right, however they are spelled how they sound.

The drive to Limerick took about 2 and a half hours, accounting for a break at a rest stop to get some fresh air after the horribly twisty roads leading up to the Motorway. I was completely distracted by all the different sodas and candies and chips (crisps) that I’ve never seen in America. I decided to forgo coffee for a Mojito favored 7UP and a back of crisps that told you on the back exactly what field the potatoes were grown in and the name of the person who cooked them.


It turned out to be for the best that I decided against the gas station coffee because when we arrived in Limerick, Fiona made the best latte I have ever had. I’m obsessed.


We played with the boys for a while and I took a short nap since I had not slept in the car like Barb and Katie. 


We then drove to the University of Limerick and walked around the beautiful buildings on campus.

While we were there we also got to wander down to the bank of the Shannon River.
  
We stopped in at the Pavillon on campus and each had a soda. Katie and I both had Lemon Ice Fanta and immediately wished we had such a thing in America.


We then returned home for dinner. Fiona and Porrick decided we should have a barbecue for 4th of July and asked us questions about the holiday. We ate lamb and chicken kebabs, hamburgers, salad with Parmesan, bacon and avocado, steak, pork belly ribs and baby yellow potatoes. Katie and I tried a Rosé wine cooler that we will definitely be having again! We had chocolate cake and ice cream for desert as a belated birthday celebration for Macken’s 7th birthday. A few of us also had another (decaf) latte.

Now it is time for bed before heading out on another adventure tomorrow. Happy 4th of July everyone!!!’

Leave a Reply

