Cooking/Baking

Chicken Bacon Ranch Bombs

Monday night, the roommates and I all finally had a night off together, so Sami and I made a deal; if I did all the cooking, she would do the cleaning. I hate doing dishes, so I was all for it. Thus, chicken bacon ranch bombs were born. These are picky eater approved, and got rave reviews from all five of us eating dinner that night.

Step 1: Ingredients

  • 1 family sized package of boneless skinless chicken breasts, uncooked.
  • 2 packages cream cheese
  • 1 package uncooked thick cut bacon
  • 1-2 cups sharp cheddar cheese
  • dry ranch seasoning
  • eggs
  • flour
  • bread crumbs

Step 2: Preparation

I started by using a meat tenderizer on the chicken (read: hammer, mallet, whatever you actually have) not enough to thin them out much, but just to make them easier to work with.

Next I cut a slit on the sides of the breast that was deep enough that I could fill them with the cream cheese/ranch seasoning/cheese mixture. The mixture was the perfect amount to generously stuff all 5 breasts and still be able to close them back up.

IMG_6388

I then wrapped each breast in bacon. I used about 3 pieces of bacon on each, to wrap all the way around.

IMG_6390

After they were all wrapped, I breaded them by coating them in flour, then dipping them in egg, then coating them in breadcrumbs seasoned with a little bit of salt and ranch seasoning.

IMG_6392

Next I heated some olive oil in a pan on the stove. I cooked them on all sides for about 3 minutes per side while the oven preheated to 425 degrees.

IMG_6394

Once they were golden brown and crispy on all sides, I placed them in a glass baking dish and put them in the oven for 15 minutes.

IMG_6396

How cheesy and wonderful do they look?! We made corn and pasta as sides. Not the healthiest dinner, but SO GOOD. It pleased even the pickiest eaters in our house who normally turn their noses up at anything with chicken.

What’s your favorite go-to crowd pleasing dinner to make?

Do you have any picky eaters in your house?

Leave a Reply

