Travel

To-Do Lists & Procrastination 

I am the queen of making a bunch of lists and then completely neglecting them. Packing lists, grocery lists, general to-do lists…I will spend an inordinate amount of time perfecting them only to completely stray from them when it comes time to actually do the tasks. For some reason though, lists make me feel better; more organized, more prepared for when I inevitably go grocery shopping while I’m starving at midnight and pack for a trip hours before I leave.

In this case, I have two to-do lists floating around today. One is my grocery list, which contains a lot of healthy food that I’m going to buy too much of because I have no meal plan in place, and the other is my list of things I need to do way ahead of time for my trip to Ireland.

First of all, passports don’t come overnight. Unless they do, in which case I don’t even want to know how much that would cost considering I’m already resenting the $135ish that I know I’m going to have to pay for it. So that’s my first thing on my list, once I get less grumpy about the cost.

Second, I need to save $400ish and then get it changed into pounds and euros. I can already feel myself procrastinating on every part of that. Probably going to count on the biggest chunk of that coming from my tax return, which I guess is more lackadaisical than anything.

Then there’s the whole matter of packing, getting a pet sitter, etc. All the stuff I can feasibly leave until the last minute and probably be okay with. We shall see.

So, what are your procrastination strategies? Do you have a better grocery shopping and/or packing strategy than me?

I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

