Life

Girl on Fire

No, I’m not actually on fire. My car on the other hand………

car from the side
Poor little Spidercar never had a chance.

I was driving home a couple of weeks ago and my 2005 Toyota Matrix, which had never had problems before, randomly shut off and the engine burst into flames. As you can see a little bit from the picture, this earned me two fire trucks and a police officer coming in with lights and sirens on because not only was my car going up in flames, but it was doing so in a gas station parking lot. Whoops.

Aside from earning me the privilege of bicycling everywhere the past couple weeks, I also got a new nickname and theme song the next night from my friends at the police department; Girl on Fire.

But anyway, next time you bring your car in for an oil change or whatever, ask them to pop the hood and check the electrical stuff. And if they look at you like you’re crazy because your car works fine and isn’t that old? Well…….

The engine after the fire was put out.
The engine after the fire was put out.

Hey, the more you know, right?

Firefighters making extra sure everything was...well...not on fire anymore.
Firefighters making extra sure everything was…well…not on fire anymore.

 

4 thoughts on “Girl on Fire

Leave a Reply

