Cooking/Baking

Cooking Up A Storm

At the beginning of the week I was complaining about not being as fit as I wanted, so my mom challenged me to a diet of sorts; if I ate exactly as she did for the next week, she guaranteed I’d lose 5 pounds. This came after the slightly depressing discovery that I outweighed her by 10 pounds or so, when usually we weighed in at about the same. It wasn’t really that I had gained weight; she had just started eating healthier and I hadn’t, which meant she had lost weight. I accepted the challenge and my healthy eating led me to this absolutely magical and inspirational blog, which in turn has led me to explore the “health food” side of Pinterest. I’ve had such fun with not only Pinning, but actually using the pins! Imagine that!

Attempt #1: I started out with 4 Ingredient Protein Pancakes, turning them into strawberry-banana by using strawberry protein powder instead of vanilla protein powder and banana instead of pumpkin. All was well until I realized I had no eggs. Let me just tell you one thing; when something only has four ingredients to begin with, substituting out one of them doesn’t quite cut it. I was soon scraping the burnt mess off of the pan and blending up a smoothie instead before running to the store.

Attempt #2: With the kitchen properly stocked quite some time later, (why does grocery shopping have to be so complicated?), I tried for 4 Ingredient Banana Oatmeal Pancakes. Basically the same as the earlier recipe, except from the smoothie I had made I was sick of protein powder and figured I had had enough by then anyway, so I made the oatmeal version. Success!! I had even thought to grab a packet of this super-tasty Maple Almond Butter to top them with. Winner.

Attempt #3: Then it was time to start preparing dinner. I decided to try out Skinny Honey Sesame Chicken. Not going to lie, I kind of forgot about the side affects of chopping an onion. I started bawling, backed away quickly, turned around and ran face first into the corner of one of the kitchen cupboards. Whoops. This is a prime example of why it’s best for me to stick to baking. It turned out decent, but a little strong. Tip: don’t cut up the chicken until you are about to serve it, or it will dry out and absorb way too much of the sauce. I served it over brown rice and green beans. Not bad, but I don’t know that I’d make it again.

Attempt #4: As I finally had the kitchen under control from all of this, I received a text asking what  I had planned for a dessert to this meal. Thinking quickly, (as I had planned nothing), I replied with “Cookies” and proceeded to whip some up. I don’t have a recipe link for this one because it’s partially the recipe on the back of a Nestle dark chocolate chip bag and partially made up based on things I have made in the past. I ended up with Dark Chocolate Caramel Chip cookies and they are wonderful. If anyone really really wants the recipe I can post it, but it’s nothing impressive I assure you.

As I finished making all of this I had to run off to practice, confession and a meeting but coming home hours later I got to try my dinner/dessert and I’m fairly happy with the results.

So there you have my cooking/baking adventure for the day. I think I might go find a doughnut pan/maker for tomorrow so I can bring doughnuts to a meeting I have at the Police Department. Just for kicks and irony. I’ll let you all know how that goes!

Leave a Reply

